Sovereign data exchange between companies

International Data Spaces (IDS) enables the sovereign and therefore self-determined sharing of data between companies. This supports future business models. Become part of the digital economy today.

Frequently asked questions

What is International Data Spaces? What kind of connectors are available? Which use cases have already been implemented? The FAQ provides you with a wide range of answers to these and other frequently asked questions, easing your entry into the International Data Spaces.

more info

Business challenges

Innovations are enabled by data. Analyzing and evaluating data produces information that can be utilized as knowledge. This means data are strategic assets. These assets increasingly constitute the basis for creating new products and services.

more info

International Data Spaces

Innovation in ecosystems is increasingly taking place through the exchange of data between companies

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

In the provision of data, both the producers and owners of data often find themselves exposed to the risk of losing control, thereby eliminating the strategic value of their data resources. This conflict of aims, which exists across industries, is addressed by International Data Spaces by making it possible for data providers to share data while maintaining data sovereignty.

The data economy is a central element of digitization. It is spreading across all domains. International Data Spaces provides the corresponding data infrastructure.

Data sovereignty as key capability in the digitization age

Three questions for Prof. Boris Otto, Head of the Data Spaces Research Center.

What role do the topics of data spaces and data sovereignty play for the cognitive Internet?

International Data Spaces returns control to data owners. Data sovereignty is a key capability in the digitization age, and International Data Spaces provides the required technology.

What is the state of the industry in this field, and how can Fraunhofer support companies?

The industry is well on its way. By now the International Data Spaces Association (formerly Industrial Data Space e.V.) has more than 100 members, and Fraunhofer is promoting the development of the International Data Spaces Reference Architecture Model. The economy needs an international standard, which can only be accomplished jointly.

What are your long-term objectives with the Data Spaces Research Center, and what are its implications for the topic of cognitive Internet technologies? 

Currently the International Data Spaces initiative focuses on B2B scenarios of the Cognitive Internet because industrial applications are at the core of our economy. Thus we are contributing to a location advantage in Germany and Europe. Ultimately however, the topic of data sovereignty affects us all. Each individual citizen must remain the sovereign of their data.

International Data Spaces Association

Key features of International Data Spaces

Guided by the demand for digital sovereignty, International Data Spaces aims to create a network of trusted data.

Sovereignty of data assets: The data owner establishes individual usage policies for their data assets, regarding both data usage and data users (such as the specific release or blocking of data for certain users).

Security of data exchange: A protection level concept regulates the data protection requirements, in particular during the exchange of data.

Decentralized organization and federal architecture: International Data Spaces combines all end points that use an IDS connector for participation in the data space of International Data Spaces. Thus there is no central authority for data management or data governance tasks. This makes International Data Spaces an alternative architecture design, compared for example to central data management concepts (including data lakes) on the one hand and decentralized data networks without shared rules on the other hand.

Governance and shared rules: Due to the decentralized architecture of International Data Spaces and thus the lack of a central supervisory authority, data governance principles are developed as shared rules. They determine the rights and obligations for data management and are derived from the requirements of the users.

Network of platforms and services: International Data Spaces connects data providers and data users. Data providers can be companies, but also individual entities in the Internet of things such as vehicles, machines, means of transport, and equipment.

Scaling and network effects: International Data Spaces provides data services for the secure exchange and straightforward linking of data. By connecting the participants via the IDS connectors, the infrastructure has a decentralized character which makes International Data Spaces scalable without a central authority.
Furthermore, the scaling and network effects as such develop through the growing availability of data, not only from individual participants but also entire ecosystems.

Scaling and network effects: International Data Spaces provides data services for the secure exchange and straightforward linking of data. By connecting the participants via the IDS connectors, the infrastructure has a decentralized character which makes International Data Spaces scalable without a central authority.
Furthermore, the scaling and network effects as such develop through the growing availability of data, not only from individual participants but also entire ecosystems.

Openness: The International Data Spaces initiative is user-driven and based on a participative development process, organizationally bundled in the International Data Spaces Association.

Protection of trust: International Data Spaces participants must be able to rely on the identity of data providers and data users, and on the technical implementation of data sovereignty. To this end, a mandatory certification of the software ensures the protection of trust. Special IDS connectors with extended encryption are also available for the secure exchange of data.

Info

 

Business challenges

The challenges addressed by International Data Spaces and the resulting benefits are described in the business challenges.

Software

Overview of the various software components for the International Data Spaces architecture.

 

Seminars

Fraunhofer offers support for implementation and the adaptation of IDS software components. Various seminars impart additional fundamentals and can help develop own solution concepts.

References

Overview of the use cases, verticalizations, specific projects, and members of the International Data Spaces initiative.

Datenaustausch über Unternehmensgrenzen hinweg

Die International Data Spaces (IDS) ermöglichen das souveräne, damit selbstbestimmte, Teilen von Daten über Unternehmensgrenzen hinweg. Dies ermöglicht die Geschäftsmodelle der Zukunft. Starten Sie schon heute in die »Digital Economy«.

Frequently Asked Questions

Was sind International Data Spaces? Welche Connectoren gibt es? Welche Use Cases wurden bereits implementiert? Das FAQ bietet Ihnen ein breites Spektrum an Antworten auf diese und weitere häufig gestellte Fragen, um den Einstieg in die International Data Spaces zu erleichtern.

mehr Info

Business Challenges

Daten sind der Befähiger für Innovationen. Durch die Analyse und Auswertung von Daten entstehen Informationen, die als Wissen genutzt werden können. Damit sind Daten strategische Vermögenswerte. Diese Vermögenswerte stellen zunehmend die Basis für die Erstellung neuer Produkte und Services dar.

mehr Info

International Data Spaces

Innovation in Ökosystemen findet zunehmend durch den unternehmensübergreifenden Austausch von Daten statt

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Bei der Bereitstellung von Daten sehen sich sowohl Erzeuger als auch Besitzer der Daten oftmals der Gefahr ausgesetzt die Kontrolle und damit den strategischen Wert ihrer Datenressourcen aus der Hand zu geben. Diesen branchenübergreifenden Zielkonflikt adressieren die International Data Spaces, indem sie Datengebern das Teilen von Daten unter Wahrung der Datensouveränität ermöglichen.

Die Datenwirtschaft ist dabei ein zentraler Bestandteil der Digitalisierung und breitet sich über alle Domänen aus. Die International Data Spaces stellen dafür die nötige Dateninfrastruktur bereit.

Datensouveränität als Schlüsselfähigkeit im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung

Drei Fragen an Prof. Dr.-Ing. Boris Otto, Leiter Forschungszentrum Data Spaces.

Welche besondere Rolle für das kognitive Internet spielt das Thema Datenräume und Datensouveränität?

Die International Data Spaces geben den Besitzern von Daten die Kontrolle darüber zurück. Datensouveränität ist eine Schlüsselfähigkeit im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung, die International Data Spaces sind die Technologie dazu.

Wo steht die Industrie in diesem Bereich und wie kann Fraunhofer Unternehmen unterstützen?

Die Industrie ist auf einem guten Weg. Die International Data Spaces Association (vormals Industrial Data Space e.V.) hat mittlerweile über 100 Mitglieder, und Fraunhofer treibt die Entwicklung des International Data Space-Referenzarchitekturmodells voran. Die Wirtschaft braucht einen internationalen Standard - das geht nur gemeinsam.

Was sind Ihre langfristigen Ziele mit dem Zentrum Data Spaces und dessen Implikationen auf das Thema „Cognitive Internet Technologies“?  

Derzeit ist die International Data Spaces-Initiative auf B2B-Szenarien des Cognitive Internet ausgerichtet, weil industrielle Anwendungen im Kern unserer Volkswirtschaft stehen. Daher leisten wir einen Beitrag zum Standortvorteil in Deutschland und Europa. Aber letztlich betrifft uns das Thema Datensouveränität alle. Der einzelne Bürger muss Souverän seiner Daten bleiben.

International Data Spaces Association

Schlüsselmerkmale der International Data Spaces

Geleitet von der Forderung nach digitaler Souveränität zielen die International Data Spaces auf ein »Network of Trusted Data« ab.

Souveränität über Datengüter: Der Eigentümer der Daten bestimmt individuelle Nutzungsbedingungen (Usage Policies) für seine Datengüter, sowohl in Bezug auf die Datennutzung als auch die Datennutzer (Bspw. Spezifische Freigabe oder Verschluss von Daten für bestimmte Nutzer).

Sicherheit des Datenaustauschs: Ein Schutzstufenkonzept regelt die Anforderungen an den Datenschutz, insbesondere während des Datenaustauschs.

Dezentralität und föderale Architektur: Die International Data Spaces vereinen die Gesamtheit der Endpunkte die eine IDS Schnittstelle (IDS Connector) verwenden, um am Datenraum der International Data Spaces teilnehmen zu können. Es gibt also keine zentrale Instanz zur Datenhaltung oder für Data-Governance-Aufgaben. Die International Data Spaces sind damit ein alternativer Architekturentwurf im Vergleich zu beispielsweise zentralen Datenhaltungskonzepten (u.a. »Data Lakes«) einerseits und dezentralen Datennetzwerken ohne gemeinsame Spielregeln andererseits.

Governance und gemeinschaftliche Spielregeln: Aufgrund der dezentralen Architektur der International Data Spaces und der damit fehlenden zentralen Kontrollinstanz, werden Data-Governance-Prinzipien als gemeinschaftliche Spielregeln entwickelt. Diese bestimmen die Rechte und Pflichten zur Bewirtschaftung der Daten und leiten sich aus den Anforderungen der Anwender ab.

Netzwerk aus Plattformen und Diensten: Die International Data Spaces verbinden Datengeber und Datennutzer. Datengeber können Unternehmen sein, aber auch einzelne Entitäten im Internet der Dinge, wie Fahrzeuge, Maschinen oder Transport- und Betriebsmittel.

© Fraunhofer ISST

Skalierung und Netzwerkeffekte: Die International Data Spaces stellen Datendienste zum sicheren Austausch und zur einfachen Verknüpfen von Daten bereit und besitzen durch die Verbindung der Teilnehmer über die IDS Connectoren einen infrastrukturellen dezentralen Charakter, wodurch die International Data Spaces ohne zentrale Instanz skalierbar sind.
Darüber hinaus entstehen die eigentlichen Skalierungs- und Netzwerkeffekte über die wachsende Verfügbarkeit von Daten, nicht nur von einzelnen Teilnehmern, sondern von ganzen Ökosystemen.

Offenheit: Die International Data Spaces Initiative ist anwendergetrieben und basiert auf einem partizipativen Entwicklungsprozess die organisatorisch in der International Data Spaces Association gebündelt werden.

Vertrauensschutz: Die Teilnehmer der International Data Spaces müssen sich auf die Identität der Datengeber und Datennutzer sowie die technische Umsetzung der Datensouveränität verlassen können. Zu diesem Zweck sichert eine notwendige Zertifizierung der Software den Vertrauensschutz. Außerdem stehen für einen sicherheitsrelevanten Austausch spezielle IDS Connectoren mit erweiterter Verschlüsselung zur Verfügung.

Info

 

Business Challenges

Welche Herausforderungen die International Data Spaces adressieren und welche Vorteile Sie bringen, wird in den Business Challenges beschrieben.

Software

Überblick der verschiedenen Software-Komponenten der International Data Spaces Architektur.

 

Seminare

Fraunhofer bietet Unterstützung bei der Implementierung und Anpassung von IDS-Softwarekomponenten. Verschiedene Seminare können weitere Grundlagen vermitteln und dabei helfen eigene Lösungenkonzepte zu erarbeiten.

Referenzen

Überblick über die Use Cases, Vertikalisierungen, Einzelprojekte und Mitglieder der Initiative International Data Spaces.